YR 47 Issue 1 2011
Artlets studes sweep awards in 27th Gawad Ustetika
CREATIVE writing enthusiasts from the Faculty of Arts and Letters (Artlets) made a laudable performance in the 27th Gawad Ustetika, the University’s annual student awards for literature, held at the Quadricentennial Park last December 3.

Political Science junior John Carlo Pacala was given the Rector’s Literary Award (RLA) for his Katha entry,
Liham. He was also named as Tomasinong Kuwentista ng Taon for winning the first place in the said category.

The RLA is chosen by the University Rector among all the first prize winners that best reflect Catholic values. However, no first place winner was declared in five out of eight categories in this year’s competition. Meanwhile, Literature junior Patricia Mariya Shishikura was given the Ophelia Dimalanta Award for her entry,
Going South. The said award was named after the wellloved and acclaimed poetess who died last November 2010.

Furthermore, Literature junior Micah Andres was named Essayist of the year for his entry,
My Father Was a Poet Once.

Other Artlets students who won major awards include Political Science senior April Anne Dizon for
Kagawaran ng mga Nawawalang Pagkatayo (3rd place, Katha) and Resume (2nd place, Sanaysay); Literature senior and the Flame Letters Editor Zendy Victoria Sue Valencia for All this talk of souls that have sailed on (3rd place, Poetry) and X-Sight (2nd place, Essay); Journalism senior Renz Lyndon Paguio for Bunyi (2nd place, Dulang May Isang Yugto); Communication Arts junior Francisco Gian Paulo Cabuena for Comfort Zone (3rd place, Dulang May Isang Yugto); Journalism senior Laira Contreras for Dahil Ubos na Naman ang Gravy (3rd place, Sanaysay); and Literature senior Edmark Tan for The Road Warrior (3rd place, Essay).

Honorable Mention awardees include Literature senior John Andrew Del Prado for
Kung Hindi man, Kundiman (Dulang May Isang Yugto) and Monologous in the Dark (One-Act Play); Asian Studies sophomore Maria Kristina Magno for Pula, Berde, Asul, Dilaw na mga Lobo (Dulang May Isang Yugto); Literature student Jeremiah Jan Agustin for Platonic Ugong (Tula); Communication Arts student Alyssa Ronielle Manalo for Lupa (Tula); and Literature Senior Bernardine Sytiong for Closing Door (Essay).

Judges for the English categories were Gemino Abad, Carlomar Daoana, and Angelo Suarez (Poetry); Mario Miclat, Dean Francis Alfar, and Paolo Enrico Melendez (Fiction); Jose Wendell Capili, Gary Devilles,
and Oscar Campomanes (Essay); and Jose Victor Torres, Ralph Galan, and Glenn Mas (One-act play).

On the other hand, the Filipino categories were screened by Rebecca Añonuevo, Victor Emmanuel Nadera, Jr., and Rosmon Tuazon (Tula); Luna Sicat-Cleto, Jun Cruz Reyes, and Eros Atalia (Katha); Romulo Baquiran, Jr., Abdon Balde, and Michael Coroza (Sanaysay); and Torres, Galan, and Mas (Dulang May Isang Yugto).
Year 47 |  Issue 3 |  2011
Year 47 |  Issue 4 |  2012