Independent candidates rule ABSC elections
TABLES have turned for Arts and Letters Student Council (ABSC) President Julius Romel Fernandez as he was re-elected to his post in the recently concluded ABSC elections, following the controversial suspension and impeachment raps filed against him during his incumbency.

“You can never keep a good man down,” said Fernandez, who was recently acquitted from the impeachment case filed against him by The Political Science Forum (TPSF) following the Insignia issue, after officials from the Commission on Elections (COMELEC) declared his victory over three other presidential hopefuls at the Tan Yan Kee Grounds last February 18.

Fernandez garnered 953 votes (34.82%) over his competitors, Nathaniel de Leon of DEKADA (512 votes; 18.71%), Jared Carlo Echavarria (481 votes; 17.57%) and Maria Sofia Santiago of the Alliance of Concerned Thomasians (ACT-NOW) (396 votes; 14.47%), with 395 abstentions.

For the Vice President-External post, Carmela Laxamana, another Communication Arts junior, won with 874 votes (38.08%) over Kathryn Caday (632 votes; 27.54%), ACT-NOW’s Patrick Dave Bugarin (479 votes; 20.87%), and DEKADA’s Aaron Gabriel Santos (310 votes; 13.51%).

Communication Arts sophomore Ace Dominic Quebal won by a landslide after garnering 1,273 votes (46.75%), against Celine Genevieve Duran of DEKADA (455 votes; 16.71%), Klint Nelson Marajas (394 votes; 14.47%), and Arian Vina Sarmiento of ACT-NOW (172 votes; 6.32%) in the Vice President-Internal race with 395 abstentions.

Fellow Communication Arts junior Patricia Mae Esclabanan was named Secretary after getting 1,002 votes (36.73%) against Ma. Vera Angela Rosales (554 votes; 20.31%), Ann Michele Gatmaitan of DEKADA (478 votes; 17.52%), and Mary Louise Ramos of ACT-NOW (235 votes; 8.61%), with 459 abstentions.

Economics junior Mary Del Jasa acquired the position of Treasurer after obtaining 998 votes (36.69%) over Alfredo Navarro (871 votes; 32.02%), Jessa Mae Manalo of DEKADA (287 votes; 10.55%), and Zara Mae Summerly Cortez of ACT-NOW (159 votes; 5.85%). The race had 405 abstain votes.

In a tightly contested race for the post of Auditor, Legal Management sophomore Henry Villamiel garnered 784 votes (28.86%), edging his closest opponent DEKADA’s Carlo Manuel De Castro, who got 766 votes (28.19%). Other candidates were Chloe Nicole Taw, who got 267 votes (9.83%), and ACT-NOW’s Claire Stephanie Lingan, who received 234 votes (8.61%). The post had 666 abstain votes.

Legal Management sophomore Ma. Carmina Valdes was proclaimed Public Relations Officer (PRO). after receiving 665 votes (24.42%) against Noel Melgar Galang’s 617 votes (22.66%), DEKADA’s Zam Lloyd Dorado with 558 votes (20.49%), and ACT-NOW’s Marie Jann Klaire Lazo, obtaining only 233 votes (8.56%). The race had 650 abstentions.

Esclabanan and Quebal are re-electionists who were ABSC ’11-‘12’s Secretary and PRO., respectively. They resigned from their posts last January in order to legitimize their candidacies. F
Year 47 |  Issue 3 |  2011
Year 47 |  Issue 4 |  2012